Wednesday, May 22, 2019

BOOK REVIEW TOUR: SHADES OF JUSTICE by CAROLYN ARNOLD @Carolyn_Arnold @beckvalleybooks #Mystery





Title:  Shades of Justice
Author: Carolyn Arnold
Series: (Detective Madison Knight #9)
Publisher: Hibbert Stiles Publishing
Source: Author via Beck Valley Book Tours in exchange for my honest review
in exchange for an honest review
Format: Ebook
Published: May 7, 2019
Genre(s): Thriller, Mystery
Pages:419
Reading Challenges:  2019 New Release Challenge

BUY LINKS

Amazon   Barnes & Noble    Kobo    iBooks   GPlay   Paperback







WHAT TO EXPECT FROM 

THE DETECTIVE MADISON KNIGHT SERIES

Murder. Investigation. The pursuit of justice. Do you love trying to figure out whodunit? How about investigating alongside police detectives from the crime scene to the forensics lab and everywhere in between? Do you love a strong female lead? Then I invite you to meet Detective Madison Knight as she solves murders with her male partner, utilizing good old-fashioned investigative work aided by modern technology.

This is the perfect book series for fans of Law & Order, CSI, 

Blue Bloods, Rizzoli & Isles, Women’s Murder Club, 

and Hawaii Five-O.

Read in any order or follow the series from the beginning. 



In the wake of all Maddison Knight experienced in the previous installment, my curiosity as it relates to what next was in store for the tenacious detective was on a high. Whatever, it was I knew without a doubt that Arnold would take her readers on a journey filled with twists and turns and provide a mystery that would keep them guessing to the end. She did not disappoint.

Madison is still reeling from her last adventure involving the kidnapping of her sister at the hands of the Russian Mafia. She decides to conduct her own investigation into corruption at the Stiles Police Department, a situation that places all whom she holds dear in danger. Added to that, she finds herself embroiled in a high profile case involving a double murder.  Her boss wants her to treat the main suspect gently due to his benevolence to the Stiles PD. Maddison is not the type to bow to pressure and was determined to solve the case even it meant displeasing the department’s benefactor and her misogynistic boss. 

This case points to the possibility of an affair gone bad, but as we go deeper into the story, we see there is more to the murders. Family secrets, blackmail, revenge and jealousy were the underlying factors of this mystery. The suspect pool is large, consisting of family members, friends and acquaintances. Maddison has her work cut out for her, but her tenacity knew no bounds.
She will learn that finding the truth is not always black and white and that to get the real story you look at what lies in between. 

As the story progressed, I found myself guessing at every page turn. When I thought I had it figured out, the author highlights another suspect, which has me guessing all over again.


Besides dealing with issues resulting from the case and the private investigation, she is also preparing for her best friend’s wedding. 

I had a great time reconnecting with the characters.  With each installment, readers are treated to new information about the characters. This was no different. We see Maddison’s relationship with Troy developing and marriage appears to be on the horizon. She still has issues with trust, but she is learning to get a handle on it.  These are characters whom I became invested in and needed to how their lives had developed since I was first introduced to them.

I loved all the characters, however, Madison outshone them all. This is not because she is the protagonist but because she is the epitome of a strong, independent, no nonsense female.  She is a character that strong women can relate to.

Conclusion/Recommendation
Shades of Justice is a well-written story that will entertain you from start to finish. Fans of hard-boiled detective stories/police procedurals will enjoy this latest offering from Arnold.




Read an excerpt









The line between good and evil isn’t always clear…

Detective Madison Knight has risked her badge—and her life—in the pursuit of justice before, and she just might need to do so again. Two victims are found murdered and naked in the home of Steven Malone, who is the largest contributor to the Stiles PD. One victim is his wife. The other victim is a John Doe. This high-profile double homicide immediately pits Madison against her sergeant, who seems more intent on protecting the Malones’ reputation and retaining a benefactor than catching a killer.

Madison will need to pull on her tenacity and courage if she’s going to follow the evidence without prejudice. In the process, it becomes clear that finding justice isn’t always black and white, and often the shades in between tell the fullest story—and it’s not something she will forget anytime soon.

Shades of Justice is a murder mystery with twists and turns that will have readers flipping the pages until the wee hours of the morning. The ninth installment in an international bestselling series, it doesn’t matter if this is the first book you’re reading in the Detective Madison Knight series or not; all the books stand alone!

Buy this book now and join the investigation! Uncover clues, follow leads, and catch a killer like hundreds of thousands of readers in this series have done before you. Perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michael Connelly, and JD Robb.



About the author

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international best-selling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures.

Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™. 


Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives just west of Toronto with her husband and beagle and is a member of Crime Writers of Canada.

And don’t forget to sign up for her
newsletter for up-to-date information on release and special offers at http://carolynarnold.net/newsletters. 


Find the author on the following sites...



Follow the Book Tour



018836-glossy-silver-icon-symbols-shapes-square-2



NOW FOR THE AUTHOR'S GIVEAWAY !!
Win a Power Struggle paperback!

Ending on Sunday 27th May at 11.59pm EST
Open to US, CA and UK

Enter Below & Good Luck !!
Are you a book reviewer or book blogger? Join our book tours reviewers team - Apply Here x
Current book tours open for sign ups HERE


No comments:

Post a Comment